$500,000 override rejected; Three non-incumbents win seats on the Board of Selectmen.


Byline: Sandy Meindersma

RUTLAND - Voters decisively rejected a proposed $500,000 Proposition 2-1/2 override and returned only one incumbent in the town's annual election.

The vote to increase the town's levy limit to balance the budget was denied more than 3-to-1, with a vote of 957-287.

"The people spoke," newly elected Selectman Leroy "Skip" Clark said. "Right or wrong, I guess it's what we've got to do."

Randy E. Jordan defeated incumbent Moderator Addison E. Redfield, 766-492.

An expansion of the size of the Board of Selectmen opened up three seats, since Louis J. Cornacchioli declined to seek re-election.

Mr. Clark won a three-year seat on the board with 559 votes. Candidates Stephanie King gathered 468 votes, and Bernice Anderson received 232.

Mr. Clark vowed to remain true to his pledge to promote open space and controlled growth.

"I'm not going to change my tune," Mr. Clark said. "It was a good race, and I'm glad I won."

Sheila H. Dibb's defeated Clealand B. Blair for a one-year seat on the Board of Selectmen by more than 2-to-1: 841-409.

"I'm very excited," Mrs. Dibb said. "I have my work cut out for me. Basically I have one year to make a difference in the town."

Finance Committee Chairman Joseph R. Becker faced no challenger for a two-year seat on the Board of Selectmen and was elected with 974 votes.

In the three-way race for a three-year seat on the Planning Board, Timothy A. Nahrwold's 516 votes bested both Mr. Cornacchioli's 372 and Peter M. Van Dyke's 345.

Norman W. Anderson ran unopposed for a five-year seat on the Planning Board, picking up 930 votes.

Karin M.H. Leonard, the sole incumbent in a race who was re-elected, defeated Nancy J. Nichols for a three-year seat on the Board of Health, 671-533.


To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT