Bennie's victory leads Wachusett; Mountaineers also win girls' title.




Midland A Championships: Senior Colin Bennie (16:23) won by 20 seconds over 3.1 miles at Ghiloni Park in Marlboro to lead Wachusett (30) over Shrewsbury (41) for the team championship.

Shrewsbury senior Dan Wentworth (16:43.9) placed second, followed by Algonquin senior Greg Palken (16:57) and North Middlesex sophomore Chris Skelly (17:01.7).

Wachusett seniors Sean Sampson (17:03.5) and Brian Cusack (17:03.8) and junior Cole Burgess (17:04.3) finished fifth through seventh, before Shrewsbury sophomores Tyler O'Keefe (17:11) and Jake Starvaski (17:11.7) and senior Dan Mortimer (17:12.2) took eighth through 10th.

Algonquin (75) was third, followed by North Middlesex (102), Fitchburg (133) and Leominster (172).

Midland B Championships: Senior Forrest Hangen won the 3.1-mile race at Ghiloni Park in 16:52.8, followed by junior teammate Mark Puleo (17:07), to lead Nashoba (25) to the team title.

Freshman Eric Latimer (17:25.2) and senior Mark Aronson (17:28.7) took third and fourth for runner-up Westboro (64). Nashoba sophomore Adam Heislein (17:36.7) was fifth, followed by senior Joshua Daigle (17:37.5), who led Marlboro (100) to third place.

Sophomore Andrew Doherty-Munroe finished seventh for Hudson (sixth, 129). Nashoba sophomores Jacob Hangen (17:45.5) and John Atkinson (17:53.5) and junior Matthew Boelens (18:06.5) completed the top 10.

Groton-Dunstable (103) was fourth and Quabbin (118) fifth.

Wachusett C Championships: Charlie Frost (20:04.54), Alex Ortiz (20:33.10) and Ian Harrington (20:42.09) placed 1-2-3 to lead Bromfield to the team victory over 3.1 miles at Ghiloni Park.

Will Day (fifth, 21:20.37), Ryell Deruijter (seventh, 21:37.71) and Spencer Tingle (10th 22:14.45) also finished in the top 10 for the Trojans.

Adam Houle (fourth, 21:06), Brian Fidler (sixth, 21:36.71), Andrew Hall (eighth, 21:53.85) and Michael Harper (ninth, 22:04.47) were in the top 10 for Tyngsboro.

Wachusett D Championships: John Quinn (20:59.97) and Colton Marshall (21:19.69) went 1-2 to lift Tahanto to the team title over 3.1 miles at Ghiloni Park.

Riley McKenzie (third, 21:34.25), Connor Marshall (eighth, 22:58.81) and Adam Blais (10th, 23:35.87) added top-10 performances for the Stags.

Kyle Larter (sixth, 22:03.91), Malcolm Mathis (seventh, 22:56.85) and Austin Schmaltz (ninth, 23:08.54) led Ayer-Shirley.

Murdock's Chris Michaud (third, 21:27.27) and Clinton's Ryan Howlett (fifth, 21:59.67) also placed in the top 10.


To continue reading