Shrewsbury Education Foundation hosts annual awards dinner.


SHREWSBURY - More than 100 people attended the Shrewsbury Education Foundation's annual awards dinner at Cyprian Keyes in Boylston on Jan. 19. Honorees included former Shrewsbury School Committee member Mark T. Murray, who received the Community Service for Shrewsbury Public Schools Award; the SEF educator grant recipients; and the recipients of the John P. Collins Awards for Excellence.

The Community Service for Shrewsbury Public Schools Award is presented to a town leader who has gone above and beyond in delivering outstanding service to the community and to the Shrewsbury Public Schools.

"I am honored and humbled to receive this award, and I am grateful to have had the opportunity to serve our community. I've said it before and I guess I'll say it again: I owe an enormous debt of gratitude to the people of Shrewsbury," said Murray in accepting the award. "Your confidence in me and your patience with me, along with your enthusiastic spirit for our community, gave my time and work on the school committee a great sense of meaning. Looking back, it was a wonderfully positive experience, something I will always treasure."

SEF also recognized the recipients of the John P. Collins Awards for Excellence, which are awarded to those who continuously exemplify high standards of professionalism and a commitment to lifelong learning. Named for former Shrewsbury Superintendent of Schools John P. Collins, Ph.D., honorees included:

Professional educators: Patrick O'Connor (special education teacher, Shrewsbury High School); Amy Prior (mathematics teacher, Shrewsbury High School); Amy Smith (physical education teacher, Floral Street School); and Kara Vincelette (integrated special education preschool teacher, Parker Road Preschool)

Paraprofessional educators: Mary Benjamin (child-specific aide, Paton School); and Jane Pineda (special education aide, Parker Road Preschool)

Support staff: Beth McCollum (volunteer coordinator, Shrewsbury Public Schools)

Team: Kara Frankian and Gina Kelly (first- and second-grade teachers, Floral Street School)

Leadership: Jayne Wilkin (principal, Paton School and Early Childhood Center)

Additionally, SEF recognized the recipients of its educator grant program, which awards funding on a competitive basis to specific teacher-led efforts to enhance education outside of the appropriated budget. Recipients included:

Kristin Stewich, nurse, Parker Road Preschool: "Taking Root at Parker Road Preschool"

Ann Early and Kristine...

To continue reading