United Way wish list offers way to lend hand.

Position:Living

The Community Services Program at United Way of Central Massachusetts has announced its 2014 holiday wish list as a way to help those in need in the area. The list offers a range of opportunities for businesses and individuals to support nonprofit organizations that help local children and families. Those who want to help can donate gifts, volunteer at holiday parties or create food baskets for families. For more information, go to www.unitedwaycm.org.Donate

*Organization also has a volunteer opportunity/listing

Ascentria Care Alliance (former Lutheran Social Services)

Contact Diane Fitzmaurice, (774) 243-3938 or dfitzmaurice@ascentria.org

Donate bus passes to help clients get to English classes.

African Community Education Program (ACE)*

Contact Frank Murphy, (508) 799-3653 or fmurphy@acechildren.org

Donate new or gently used winter clothing to be distributed to ACE families. Donations accepted November-January.

AIDS Project Worcester, Inc.*

Contact Patricia Price, (508) 755-3773 or tprice@aidsprojectworcester.org

Donate new, unwrapped gifts for infants up to age 16 -- clothing, educational items, gift cards and toys. Requesting that donations be made before toy distribution Dec. 17 and 18.

Alternatives Unlimited*

Contact Sandra Marquis, (508) 266-6517 or Sandra.marquis@alternativesnet.org

Donate $5 gift cards to grocery stores, pharmacies, department stores and fast food establishments.

American Red Cross of Central Mass.*

Ray Duffy, (508) 595-3762 or Ray.duffy@redcross.org

Donate quality cotton socks and slippers in all sizes.

Auburn Youth and Family Services

Contact Sally D'Arcangelo, (508) 832-5707 or admin@ayfs.org

Donate new toys, games and books for children; grocery store gift cards for holiday food baskets; gifts for teens such as movie passes, music, gaming gift cards and personal care items; and gift cards to clothing and shoe stores. "Adopt'' a family and provide gifts for Christmas. Call for details.

Big Brothers Big Sisters Central MA/Metro West

Contact Melanie Perreault, (508) 752-7868 ext. 14 or melanie.perreault@bbbscm.org

"Adopt'' a family for the holidays or donate gift cards to grocery and discount stores, board games, sports equipment, craft supplies and small gift items suitable for children.

Birthday Wishes

Contact Tammy Regan,(866) 388-9474 ext. 5 or tammy@birthdaywishes.org

Donate toys and pajamas for children ages 1Co14 and gift cards to discount stores to purchase gifts for children. Groups are welcome to organize a drive for these items.

Boys & Girls Club of Worcester*

Contact Liz Hamilton, (508) 754-2686 or lhamilton@bgcworcester.org

Donate toys for children ages 5Co12 and gift cards for youths 13Co18. "Adopt'' a child or a family for the holidays.

Burncoat Family Center

Contact Katie Dwan, (508) 853-6988 x222 or kdwan@communityhealthlink.org

Donate new toys, books, clothes, outerwear, boots and gift cards for ages 4Co18; gift certificates for movies, bowling and other activities; non-religious holiday decorations and gift-wrap; and food for holiday meals.

Catholic Charities*

Contact Dianne Lambert, (508) 860-2246 or dlambert@ccworc.org

Donate nonperishable foods; personal hygiene items such as soaps, shampoos and razors; gift cards to food and/or discount retail stores; adult gloves, scarves, hats and warm sweaters and jackets of all sizes.

Central Massachusetts Housing Alliance *

Contact Katherine Kerr, (508) 791-7265 or kkerr@cmhaonline.org

Donate toys, gift cards for teens, children and adult winter boots, and jackets for homeless families.

Children's Friend, Inc.

Contact Karen Ludington, (508) 459-6424 or kludington@childrensfriend.org

Donate gift cards for discount and grocery stores that will be distributed to needy families during the holiday season.

Community Healthlink -- Faith House

Contact Sharon Vincent, (508) 860-1287 or svincent@communityhealthlink.org

Donate winter hats, scarfs, gloves, socks and slippers; fleece throws, journals, pens, planners, recovery books; personal care items such as shower gel, face cleaner or makeup.

Community Healthlink--Co Granite Street Program

Contact Sheryl Cardin, (508) 860-1166 or scardin@communityhealthlink.org

Donate winter coats, hats, boots, sweaters and mittens for men and women; small gift items such as CD players, CDs, gift cards, pajamas, socks and bathrobes.

Community Healthlink -- Homeless Outreach and Advocacy Program

Contact Brian Bickford, (508) 860-1139 or bbickford@communityhealthlink.org

Donate winter hats, gloves and backpacks.

Community Healthlink -- Safe Haven Program

Contact Erin McGlynn, (508) 860-1292 or emcglynn@communityhealthlink.org

Donate winter coats, hats, gloves and socks for men and women; gift cards to coffee shops and retail stores.

Community Healthlink -- Together for Kids

Contact Lynn Hennigan, (508) 421-4453 or lhennigan@communiyhealthlink.org

Donate multiple copies of "Books About Feelings for Babies and Toddlers,'' recommended by Zero to Three: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families. See the list of books at http://tinyurl.com/4rjplum.

Dare Family Services*

Contact Armida Martinez, (508) 755-7100 or amartinez@darefamily.org

Donate toys and other items for children ages 10-18. Items for teens especially needed.

Dismas House*

Contact David McMahon, (508) 799-9389 or cmdismashouse@aol.com

Donate gift cards for male residents: sheets and blankets, toiletries, hats, gloves and pajamas.

Dress for Success Worcester

Contact Linda Reding, (508) 796-5660 or worcester@dressforsuccess.org

Donate gift cards to grocery and retail stores.

Elder Services of Worcester Area, Inc.

Contact Julia Martiros, (508) 852-3205 or...

To continue reading

FREE SIGN UP